The Splinters Releases

Catalog# DNR009 The Splinters

Release Date: March 9, 2010

After spending the past couple of years charming the Bay Area (and beyond) with their infectious garage-pop nuggets, The Splinters are finally ready to present their debut full-length album. Kick was recorded in late 2009 with Maus Haus frontman Jason Kick, and finds the girls sounding better than ever. Over the course of 12 songs – most of which only last about two minutes – Ashley, Caroline, Courtney, and Lauren navigate a fun-filled journey that references ’60s girl groups, riot grrrl art-punk, and rough-around-the-edges garage rock. Kick is the first album to be released on Double Negative in more than two years, and we can’t think of another band in the Bay Area we’d be happier to share with the world.

Price: $10

Song titles:
1. Mysterious
2. Cool
3. Motorcycle
4. Sea Salt Skin
5. Dark Shades
6. Sorry
7. Electricity
8. Splintered Bridges
9. Oranges
10. Brass
11. Ch-Cha
12. Worry

Catalog# DNR008 The Splinters
Splintered Bridges

Release Date: August 1, 2009

Despite their humble beginnings in the East Bay house party circuit, all-girl quartet The Splinters have quickly honed their musical chops and developed a real knack for filling their garage-pop songs with the stickiest of pop hooks. Splintered Bridges is the band’s first proper release. While fans will quickly recognize “Splintered Bridges” and “Sorry” as staples of the girls’ live show, newcomers will undoubtedly be enamored by the mix of vintage garage riffs, ’60s girl group-style vocal harmonies, and lo-fi slacker charm.

Splintered Bridges is a limited-edition release, as only 300 copies have been pressed. Of those, a very small number are being sold with jackets hand-decorated by the girls themselves. These one-of-a-kind records won’t last long, so we’d advise you to order one before they disappear.

Song titles:
A. Splintered Bridges
B. Sorry